The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell

The Rule of Four is a Mystery thriller / Academic thriller novel written by Ian Caldwell and Dustin Thomason. It supposed to be  DaVinci Code type novel but authors have failed doing so.

When four Princeton seniors begin the Easter weekend, they are more concerned with their plans for the next year and an upcoming dance than with a 500-year-old literary mystery. But by the end of the holiday, two people are dead, two of the students are injured, and one has disappeared. These events, blended with Renaissance history, code breaking, acrostics, sleuthing, and personal discovery, move the story along at a rapid pace. Tom Sullivan, the narrator, tells of his late father’s and then a roommate’s obsession with the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili, a 15th-century “novel” that has long puzzled scholars. Paul has built his senior thesis on an unpopular theory posited by Tom’s father–that the author was an upper-class Roman rather than a monk–and has come close to proving it. While much of the material on the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili is arcane and specialized, it is clearly explained and its puzzles are truly puzzling, while the present-day action is compelling enough to keep teens reading.

Story was some what interesting and I read till the end But I know many has given up after few chapters. The authors were far out of their league but since it’s their first novel, and these two writers are very young. Some of the passages have merit. It will be interesting to watch them mature as writers. Out of  1,185  Amazon customers 404 have given a single star and 272 have given 2 stars as rating. So you can see what readers think about it.

Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock Holmes stories which are written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle are one of most famous book series in the world. Also without a doubt most famous detective series ever. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes were initially published in “The Strand” magazine as a series of 24 short stories. These stories saw publication between 1891 and 1893. When they were published in book form, the first twelve were published as “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes” and the last twelve were called “The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes.” Today, when we speak of the original “Adventures,” we usually refer to the first twelve Holmes short stories. Since his first appearance in Beeton’s Christmas Annual in 1887, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle‘s Sherlock Holmes has been one of the most beloved fictional characters ever created.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, hardcover book included twelve adventures,

1. A Scandal in Bohemia
2. The Red-Headed League
3. A Case of Identity
4. The Boscombe Valley Mystery
5. The Five Orange Pips
6. The Man with the Twisted Lip
7. The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle
8. The Adventure of the Speckled Band
9. The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb
10. The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor
11. The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet
12. The Adventure of the Copper Beeches

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle‘s books have Great British classic literature which have famous in every country. These Sherlock Holmes detective stories provide great entertainment to anyone who love mystery novels. If you haven’t read any of Conan Doyle‘s stories, they are worth perusing. I have read all Sherlock Holmes stories out there and wish there were more of those.